The Left-Handed Existentialist

IMG_20160205_0001

Existentialism: a philosophical theory or approach that emphasizes the existence of the individual person as a free and responsible agent determining their own development through acts of the will. (Google Definition)

In other words: You have the free will to live the life you choose.

I never stage photos, but I was tinkering with my Neo 90 and it was an ice-biome outside, so I placed my favorite, straw-colored mug beside Jean-Paul Sartre’s “Existentialism is a Humanism.” It was a book I had to buy for a college course on French culture and I was psyched–see what I did there?–to add it to my overflowing shelf. I’d been following the existential philosophy since I’d first studied it in a class that focused on the history of psychology.

What I learned from this photo:

The macro setting on the Neo 90 will only work from a certain distance (obviously). But I’m still trying to find that “sweet spot.” I need to pay more attention as I look through the viewfinder, note what is showing up focused and what isn’t. If I’d wanted everything in this photo to be in focus, it would have been best to do away with the macro setting altogether.

However, the blurriness in this photo was a happy accident. Maybe it’s the freelenser in me, but I can never resist a dreamy blur. While the coffee is in focus, the words in the book have become a mystery. It opens the French doors of interpretation.

Comments

